Case Study: Regional NSP Application for the Metropolitan Washington D.C. Area Consortium

Report by Leah Hendey
August 27, 2009

Urban–Greater DC   (Washington, D.C.)

In July 2009, the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) led a consortium of its member jurisdictions in applying for funding through the second and competitive round of the Neighborhood Stabilization Program (NSP2). The Metropolitan Washington Area Consortium consists of six jurisdictions: the city of Alexandria, Va.; the city of Bowie, Md.; Fairfax County, Va.; the city of Gaithersburg, Md.; Prince George’s County, Md. and Prince William County, Va. Prince George’s County and Prince William County contain some of the hardest hit neighborhoods in the region. The District of Columbia did not participate in the Consortium but also submitted their own NSP2 application. Combined, the Consortium members represent more than half of the total population in the Washington D.C. metropolitan area